What our customers are saying

Personal service and strong attention to the client are hallmarks of DM Outdoor Living Space’s construction experience. When people are looking to build their dream outdoor living space, they need a contractor and designer who listens and understands how to bring those dreams to life. We take great strive to provide homeowners with a positive experience during the construction process, by exhibiting integrity and fairness to all persons involved. Read more of what people are saying about our services.

November 2019
Description of work: Deck

I hired D and M to replace my deck and expand it. Dino and his staff did an outstanding job. Quality work at a good price. Dino and staff are perfectionists and made sure that everything was right. I appreciate that along with their work ethic. I recommend them without reservation.
5-Star Review left on houzz.com

October 2019
Description of work: Deck

When I was asked to evaluate the work done by D&M Outdoor Living Spaces to replace our 25-year-old deck and retaining wall I didn’t hesitate at all. Dino and his work crews are craftsmen of the highest quality. Dino provided the conceptual design and the crew made it happen. The crew was punctual, precise, and exacting in their workmanship, their demeanor, and their attention to detail. I would not hesitate recommending Dino and D&M to anyone, and would be happy to speak with anyone about our project.
5-Star Review left on houzz.com

September 2019
Description of work: Deck

I had various estimates to repair or replace my old deck and went a considerable way toward doing it myself. I finally had several estimates to fully replace the old deck with high quality Timbertech / Azek materials. D&M came in with most favorable pricing and impressed me as honest and reliable people. Dino took a look at the layout of the old deck and very quickly proposed a reconfiguration with the beams and joists running 90 degrees from the layout of the old deck. It took a while for me to make my mind to have the deck professionally done. I finally decided that it made the most sense to have it professionally done to meet all building codes and get a level of quality that I could not approach. In the course of attempting it myself I learned some things about quality deck construction. It quickly became clear to me that the deck (20′ x 18′) that Dino and his crew built was very sturdily constructed with 15 footings going to a depth of 48″. Dino and his most experienced crew members did the footings to make sure the pattern was right and the footings were to the correct height. A crew of 3 carpenters (Hugo, Juan and Oscar) did the deck build from a Wednesday to the next Wednesday. I was impressed with how level all the beams and joists were and all the small but significant quality features they built in. The joists were on 14″ centers making for a stronger platform for the PVC deck boards which are very flexible and could have ended up feeling a bit soft underfoot or wavy if the joists are not very level and at the same height. The manufacturer required 16″ on center joists. The deck boards run the length of the deck to avoid seams and are very nicely attached with hidden fasteners. The stairs are built on footings making them very strong. Way overbuilt but in a good way. I chose the aluminum rail system when thinking of doing the project myself because it was supposed to be easiest for the do-it-yourselfer to install. We stuck with this when Dino did his quote. The carpenters did a great job installing the railing but it became clear to me that I would have ended up with $3,000 worth of scrap metal if I had attempted this myself. Lastly, the Elmhurst building code inspector visited three times, once to verify that the footing holes went to the required 48″ depth, once to examine the framing and once to examine the finished deck. On his last visit, I asked him why he spent so little time examining the work. He responded that when it is done very well, it is obvious and he doesn’t need to spend much time. I can recommend D&M Outdoor Living for your decking project without reservation. Bob B. Elmhurst
5-Star Review left on houzz.com

September 2019
Description of work: Deck and Sideway Walk

Can’t say enough about Dino and his crew! Great customer service and a beautiful end product. We had them do our deck and a side walkway. Gave Dino a Pinterest picture and he made it happen. Truly quality work and Dino is so easy to work with!
5-Star Review left on houzz.com

July 2019
Description of work: Deck

Excellent work and quality. Dino, Abel and Lizz great follow up and professionalism. Completed job on time, clean up and promised what they agreed to. I used them twice and VERY PLEASED that I did! Highly recommend them!
5-Star Review left on houzz.com

June 2019
Description of work: Deck

D & M did an amazing job on our deck. It is become our living space for the summer nights and Sunday morning coffees! Great design work. Responsive. Clean. Friendly. Highly recommend.
5-Star Review left on houzz.com

September 2019
Description of work: Deck

Team was prompt and efficient, workmanship was excellent. Company was careful of lawn and property. Very open to our ideas and needs. Would highly recommend
5-Star Review left on houzz.com

July 2018
Description of work: Old wood deck demoed – new larger deck

We had a wood deck demoed and removed. A new larger deck and substructure was built in its place. Also a paver brick walk way was installed.
5-Star Review left on houzz.com

June 2018
Description of work: Paver Patio in Back to be Sculpted Around Existing Garden

DM was one of the best companies I have dealt with when it comes to “Outdoor Living Spaces.” They have created a wonderful area alongside and throughout our gardens where we can enjoy fire pits and company and the beauty of our natural landscaping. The gentlemen who work for DM work professionally, courteously, and artistically. They also go the extra distances after a project to reset and clean the area. This one great company to do business with, and we will go to them again if we decide to make more changes in our hard landscaping.
5-Star Review left on Angieslist.com

March 2017
Description of work: We needed a deck built.

Dino and his crew were so great to work with from Day 1. I had a Pinterest picture of what I wanted to do, and he made it happen! He tweaked things along the way with no hesitation when I asked him to. His crew was professional and punctual and they did not cut any corners. Our deck turned out beautifully, and with the extra added touches, it was more then I could have asked for! We are now working with Dino again to do a patio and side walk! It’s hard to find an all-in-one stone/decking/landscaping company and DM Outdoor Living Spaces does it all! I would HIGHLY recommend him to anyone!
5-Star Review left on Angieslist.com

March 2017
Description of work: Brick paver patio and retainer walls; landscaping

Excellent. Our patio is our “happy place”. Over 25 years ago DM built our deck when we purchased our home which we enjoyed for many years before we decided to remove the deck and replace it with a patio. We immediately thought to contact DM for our patio. The quality of the construction is so good that we have never had to have anything repaired since the patio and retainer walls were built over 10 years ago. We recently contacted DM because we are planning some additional enhancements to our backyard including additional retainer walls.
5-Star Review left on Angieslist.com

December 2016
Description of work: The patio is fabulous.

This is the second time we’ve hired Dino to build a patio for us. The first was about 14 years ago and went so well, we hired him again. He built a back stoop for us along with a patio, fire pit and also a pergola with electricity for lights and a fan. Dino did some landscaping for us too.

His team was very professional and worked quickly. The patio is fabulous. He created a beautiful outdoor living space that we’ll enjoy for years to come. Dino really listened to us, provided some great ideas and then executed them well. He also worked with us to save some costs as well. Highly recommend!
5-Star Review left on Angieslist.com